lifewiththebs

Life with the Bs

He still needs a nap

Leave a comment

Nolan has a summer birthday.  I didn’t think much about it until party time and all his friends were out of town.  But when we were getting close to Kindergarten, people started asking me if I was going to send him.  Of course, why would I pay an extra year of childcare if I don’t have to?  The cut off is in September and his birthday is well before that!  The more I talked to people, the more stories I heard about people doing 2 years of PreK or a year of private Kindergarten and a year of public Kindergarten.  I was all confused…..I thought he was ready!  I talked to his PreK teacher towards the end of the school year and asked what she thought.  She assured me that he was ready.  So in August, he went off to Kindergarten.

Things have been great!  He loves it, he’s learning all his sight words, and only changing his color on occasion (Angelica TOLD him to throw food in the lunchroom).  I was pleasantly surprised at how well he was doing.  However, he started falling asleep on the bus ride home.  They are the first stop so the ride is all of about 10 minutes.  He would come home and melt down.  No fun for anyone!  I realized that he’s a young 5 year old and the boy still needs a nap.  They don’t have nap time in Kindergarten anymore.  We usually have an 8 o’clock bedtime on school nights but this wasn’t cutting it for Nolan.  I bumped his bedtime up to 7 – 7:30.  What a difference it has made!  No more after school melt downs.  He’s well rested and hasn’t been falling asleep on the bus.  I can’t believe that 30 minutes could make such a big difference!

Leave a Reply

