lifewiththebs

Life with the Bs

Just do it

Leave a comment

We offer our prayers, sympathy, and help to people that are struggling.  But how often do we actually take care of a need?  I’m guilty of this too.  We tell them to reach out if they need anything with both parties knowing that’s unlikely.  Maybe we’re thinking, I’ve done my part by putting the offer out there but was it really an offer or more of an empty promise?

We have a neighbor that suddenly lost her husband late last year.  I put a card in her mailbox a month or two later to let her know that we were praying and said to let us know if there is anything that we can do.  Of course, she never asked.  I drove by her house this week and noticed that her lawn hadn’t been mowed.  The thought of mowing for her crossed my mind.  Then she tagged one of my friends in a post on FB about this topic.  Don’t wait for someone else to act.  If you see a need, take care of it.  Yesterday, my dad’s lawn service went out and took care of her lawn.

My parents had to move from the home that they lived in for 20 years earlier this year.  My mom mentioned to one of their neighbors at church one weekend that they were moving.  That Saturday, four neighbors showed up at their front door ready to help load the moving truck.  We really couldn’t have done it without them!

Look for a way to bless someone this week……let them go in front of you at the grocery store, mow a lawn, make a dinner, buy a coffee, or babysit for a friend.  Don’t offer, just do it!

 

Leave a Reply

