lifewiththebs

Life with the Bs

My Favorite Chicken Salad Recipes

Leave a comment

I really love chicken salad.  Here are my two favorite chicken salad recipes.

Cookie Party 2013 002

Cashew Chicken Rotini Salad – This recipe came from my Aunt Sheila.  I make it for my Christmas Cookie Exchange every year.  I makes a ton and is always a big hit!

1 (16 oz) package rotini or spiral pasta

4 cups cubed chicken (cooked)

1 (20 oz) can pineapple tidbits (drained)

1.5 cups sliced celery

.75 cup thinly sliced green onions

1 cup seedless green grapes

1 cup seedless red grapes

1 (6 oz) package dried cranberries

1 cup ranch dressing

.75 cup mayo

2 cups salted cashews

Cook pasta.  Meanwhile in a large bowl combine chicken, pineapple, celery, onions, grapes, and cranberries.  Drain pasta and rinse in cold water.  Add to chicken mixture.  In a small bowl, whisk ranch and mayo.  Pour over chicken mixture and toss to coat.  Cover and refrigerate for at least one hour.  Stir in cashews just before serving.  Makes 12 servings.

Chicken Salad Sandwiches – This recipe came from my best friend’s mom.  I think we make it for every wedding/baby shower that we have hosted.  However, I don’t have a picture.  I know that makes me a horrible food blogger, sorry!

2.5 cups diced, cooked chicken

1.5 cups chopped celery

1 cup sliced white grapes
1 cup mayo
1 tsp salt
.5 cup sour cream
2 chopped boiled eggs
white pepper to taste
.5 cup slivered almonds

Mix and chill.  Serve on mini croissants.

 

Leave a Reply

