lifewiththebs

Life with the Bs

Rome Sweet Home

2 Comments

I’ve been a Catechist for 7 years now.  I taught 4 year olds for 6 of those years.  My reasoning was that they wouldn’t be able to stump me.  We covered topics like God’s gift of water, light, animals, and fish.  Real deep stuff 🙂  I didn’t have the most pleasant experience teaching Janie’s class.  She would get upset if someone else wanted to sit next to me and other things like that.  With Nolan joining the 4 year old class this year, I thought it was best to have someone else teach him so I moved up to 1st grade.  First grade begins First Communion preparation so the children are learning a lot about our faith.

Last year, our director gifted each Catechist with the book Rome Sweet Home.  I brought it home, stuck it on my shelf, and didn’t pick it back up.  My mom was here after my surgery and she was telling me about the book.  Since I was still recovering with little else to do, I decided to pick it up.  I couldn’t put the book down!  It’s so powerful.  It made me want to get closer to my faith, be a better Catechist, and a better person overall.  The first class I taught after finishing the book was about Jesus as a teacher.  I was telling the kids how much Jesus loves us and how he wanted to share God’s love with everyone.  I started to get emotional as I told them to think about how much their parents love them and that God’s love for us is even greater.  Then I was brought back to the fact that these are 6 and 7 year olds when I had to say, “Luke, please stop licking your hand.”

This book is a great read for every Catholic and anyone that wants a better understanding of the Catholic faith.  It explains our reverence for Mary and the Pope.  And how our traditions came straight from the Bible.

2 thoughts on “Rome Sweet Home

  1. Thank you for the recommendation! I am going to pick it up.

Leave a Reply

