lifewiththebs

Life with the Bs

Mean girls

Leave a comment

Who knew that mean girls start to show themselves on 2nd grade!  Janie has had a difficult transition this year.  There are a few girls that she has had to deal with that do the whole “I’m not your friend, I’m your BFF, I’m not your friend” thing with her at school.  It’s hard to see your child hurting.  She has cried a number of times before school or gets off the bus crying.  She has begged me to come to lunch in case she and her friend are in a “not friends” moment.  I’ve told her to play with other kids but to always be nice to everyone.  I’ve tried to plan play dates with kids that I know are good kids.  We actually had a little girl come over yesterday and Janie told her that someone was not being nice to her at school.  She said, “that happened to me last year so I prayed for her and then it got better.”  Wise words from a second grader! 

But to you who hear I say, love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you.  Luke 6:27-28

I know that my kids will have to deal with these issues all their lives.  There will be times that they have a classmate, coworker or boss that doesn’t treat them right.  My job is to give them the tools to handle these situations, luckily I have the Bible to guide me.  Time for mama bear to go back to her den! 

Leave a Reply

