lifewiththebs

Life with the Bs

Lessons in cake pops

2 Comments

My sister got me this Baby Cakes Cake Pop Maker for Christmas.  Yes, it was the end of March before I got around to using it.  I think I was a little intimidated!

https://i2.wp.com/couponerslivingfree.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/Babycakes-CP-12-Cake-Pop-Maker-Purple-12-Cake-Pops.jpg

I used a recipe that was included with the cake pop maker.  I’m not a baker so I was hesitant but it was really easy and I had all of the ingredients on hand.  The recipe made over 50 cake pops!  The cake pop maker was great and they all looked like balls so I was excited!  I talked to my “cake lady” (everyone has one of those, right?) and she said to put the sticks in the cake pops and freeze them before frosting them.  My sister told me that if you dip the stick in chocolate first, it works as an anchor and they are less likely to fall off the stick while icing them.  I will have to try that next time.

The next day, we were ready to dip them in chocolate.  In the book that came with the cake pop maker, it said to mix chocolate frosting with the chocolate chips.  That was a bad idea!  I was left with a big chocolate rock.  We tossed that out and just used chocolate chips melted in a double boiler.  I suggest only taking one to two cake pops out of the freezer at a time.  I took the whole pan out and they started to fall off the sticks and break up in the chocolate.  Once they were dipped, we rolled them in the sprinkles and put the eggs on top.  It was difficult getting the eggs to stay and we had to put them straight in the fridge.

Easter 038We put holes in a shoe box to work as our cake pop holder and just stuck that in the fridge.  Some of the cake pops had to sit in the car while we were at church so I put those in cupcake liners as they would be easier to transport.

Easter 042Not too bad for my first try!  Now, I’m thinking about all of the other cool cake pops that we can make.  You can also make donuts and muffins!

2 thoughts on “Lessons in cake pops

  1. My cake pop experiences have always resulted in huge cake chunks floating in the chocolate and sad empty sticks. I think yours came out perfectly!

Leave a Reply

