lifewiththebs

Life with the Bs

Breakfast ideas

6 Comments

My Zumba class was cancelled last night and dinner was already in the crock pot so I decided to use this time to prepare some breakfast options for the week.

The eggs that I made last week were a huge hit.  We didn’t have any English muffins last week so I picked some up this weekend and put another batch of eggs in the oven tonight.  I will probably eat some for lunches as well.

Next up was Overnight Oats in a Jar.  I tried this a few weeks ago and I really liked it.  Nolan wanted some so I offered him a bite but he wanted his own (the joys of 3 year olds).  So I made three for breakfast in the morning.  I followed the recipe other than using honey as my sweetener.  I also didn’t add nuts or anything.

I made an Aldi trip this weekend and because their milk is so cheap, I picked up the maximum number of 4 milks.  It turns out, we already had 2 unopened milks in the fridge.  We go through lots of milk but that’s a little much.  So I decided to make Greek yogurt.  I did this one other time and it turned out pretty good.  It isn’t very sweet but if you use her mix-ins, it’s fabulous!  My yogurt came out of the oven this morning!

One other breakfast idea that I tried lately are steel cut oats in the crock pot overnight.  I did 2 cups of oats, 8 cups of water, some brown sugar and cooked it on low overnight.  We used honey to sweeten each bowl but it wasn’t sweet enough for Janie.  Nolan ate two bowls the first morning but we had lots of leftovers and he was not really into it the next day.  I’ve seen lots of recipes with apples, cranberries and raisins so I may give them a shot.

Please don’t let me fool you with these ideas, my kids eat cereal for breakfast most mornings.  It’s just nice to change it up every once in awhile!

6 thoughts on “Breakfast ideas

  1. good gravy–you are on top of it!! Evan usually likes eggs for breakfast and Camden eats cereal–they wouldn’t DREAM of trying oatmeal or grits or anything like that! Bummer for me b/c I would probably eat breakfast if it was something fun, but I won’t make it if it’s just for me!

  2. For the overnight oats, do you warm them up or eat them cold? I just can’t imagine liking cold oatmeal. I do steel cut oats in the crockpot a lot. I usually add in craisins, cinnamon, vanilla, and sweeten it with agave nectar. I’m impressed with your prepping skills… we are a mostly cold cereal for breakfast family, too.

  3. I have seen these on pinterest and they look good! Not sure my kids would like but I know I would.

Leave a Reply

