lifewiththebs

Life with the Bs

MDA Camp

2 Comments

MDA Camp was last week so I’m seeing all kinds of Facebook posts with pictures and my, do I miss it!  If you are not aware, the Muscular Dystrophy Association sends children from ages 7 – 18 with MD to camp each summer.  In Georgia, we go to Camp Twin Lakes.  I got involved my sophomore year of college after a few of my roommates volunteered as counselors.  I was hesitant at first but my roommates came back with such great stories and friendships, I felt I needed to give it a shot.  What a magical experience!  I ended up being a counselor for the next 7 years.  That week is amazing for these kids.  For one week, they are not dependent upon their parents (nice break for the parents too), they are not different, and there is nothing holding them back!  They are able to do the ropes course, play soccer, go fishing, swim and the list goes on!  Both campers and counselors look forward to this week all year long!  I still feel a part of the MDA family.  I love my camper dearly and had her as one of my bridesmaids.   Now I’m going old school with pictures!  No digital cameras for my first years at camp so this the the best I could do…..

We’ve lost a number of campers over the years.  I’m looking forward to our camp reunion one day with no disabilities getting in the way and much nicer sleeping quarters!

2 thoughts on “MDA Camp

  1. Pingback: Giving of your time « lifewiththebs

  2. Pingback: MDA Muscle Walk | lifewiththebs

Leave a Reply

