lifewiththebs

Life with the Bs

Bedding and Window Treatments

8 Comments

I picked out this bedding set that I loved for our master bedroom.

We painted our walls the blue to match the set.  Unfortunately, the material is pretty thin and our 65 lb Boxer tore the comforter (he is no longer allowed on the bed).  I ended up buying a second comforter because I loved it so much and after all, we had painted our room around this set.  We had the new comforter for about a week and Baxter jumped on the bed and tore it again!  I tried to patch it but the patch wouldn’t hold.  We actually kept it on the bed for awhile because I didn’t know what I wanted to do since the blue was so hard to match.  Finally, I found a set on sale that I liked.  It’s brown so I didn’t have to worry about matching the blue but I really wanted something to tie the blues and browns together.

Then one night, it hit me!  We could use the torn comforter to make a cornice board.  We have a set of very long windows that I hadn’t done anything with so this was a great solution.  The material from the comforter was not long enough so we used a pillow sham in the middle.

I’m really happy with the way that it turned out and that I was able to recycle the comforter!  The total project was about $30, can’t beat that price for window treatments!

8 thoughts on “Bedding and Window Treatments

  1. Love it!!! I wish my brain worked that way!!!

  2. What a creative idea! I love it. I am desperate for new window ideas, so thank you 😉

  3. Great way to repurpose your torn comforter! It looks great!

  4. great idea!!

Leave a Reply

